Palais and the Jardin du Luxembourg.
The magnificent Jardin du Luxembourg, with the Palais du Luxembourg,
is at the corner of Boulevard Saint-Michel and Rue de Médicis.
The Palais du Luxembourg, present meeting place of the Council of the
Republic, was built by Salomon de Brosse architect, between 1615 and
1620, on the instructions of Marie de Médicis.
Rubens painted twenty four allegories showing life history of Marie
de Médicis; they are now in the Louvre. The Palais was Royal
property until the Revolution, when it was turned into a prison. Afterwards,
the Directoire, the Consulat, and lastly the Senat, held their meetings
The charming Jardin du Luxembourg has been sung by poets and novelists.
It was widened in 1790 when the Couvent des Chartreux was pulled down.
The Médicis Fountain is worthy of note.